New Year/New Shopping Traditions

Or maybe a tradition of not shopping? I got a link from my partner in crime, Claire, the other day showing me a blog by her friend who has decided not to shop this year. http://www.retail-free.com. This reminded me of my friend Perdita, who last year blogged about her 365-day fashion re-hab. http://www.365fashionrehab.com. So I am feeling this trend of restraint, even with those of us that have dedicated our lives to finding great stuff and acquiring it. I love it and hate it. I guess that’s how I know it is a good thing to explore further… I am going to join in this retail free year to the best of my ability. BUT not to worry I will be still be scouting out great local buys for you! AND furthermore I will be emphasizing great ways to invest in local culture and community without buying stuff. I am looking forward to revolutionizing my lifestyle and mining the riches of Nova Scotia in this coming year… I hope you are with me! (This photo was taken on Windsor st. last week. An excellent offering of winter humor. Gabe wanted to take it home for soup!)

4 responses to “New Year/New Shopping Traditions

  • Will

    That snowman is amazing, if you melted the snowman into the pot you would have a good start for soup right there!

  • heather

    these are some great links! thanks for pointing us in these converging directions.

  • adelaide

    Thank you for the post. It is important for commerce to grow through retail sales though. If we all stopped buying it would all collapse and then the items we really needed we couldn’t get or would be so expensive most could not afford them. Worst case scenario but still very possible. But that will never happen (society as a whole not buying things).

    • made for you here

      You are right. I think my emphasis would be on buying the things I NEED, and sourcing them locally when possible. That way we can grow here and not send our money and resources away. Also I keep thinking about how much money I could spend on the things you need/love if I didn’t spend on the other stuff. This is a real edge for me and I would love to hear more about what you think! Thank you for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

