Contrasting Love

Yesterday I was miserable. Today i am full of energy. I am constantly baffled by my fickle moods and emotions, swayed this way and that by the weather, my food choices, a phone call or a heap of laundry. When things feel bad I feel powerless and trapped and when they feel good I feel unstoppable and inspired. Yet I do not wish for all of the days to be “good ones”… I enjoy the energy and activity, but I cannot live in it all the time. There is something rejuvenating in those “down days”. The fog and listlessness allows for slowing down and reflection. The fresh start is that much more brilliant when preceded by a day of stale thoughts and cooped up restlessness. This morning I was out of the house first thing with Claire. Off to the grocery store and the cafe, ready to talk and walk and get things done. The sun shone, the babies cooed and cried, the groceries got bought and it felt good. Contrast is so useful to me, showing the light and dark, slow and fast, clear and foggy. I aspire to notice this love in the midst of every day.

“Good, bad, happy, sad, all thoughts vanish into emptiness like the imprint of a bird in the sky.” Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche

2 responses to “Contrasting Love

  • Will

    Thank you for this. I often feel guilty for my bad days and wishing on my good days that all of them could be like that. It is nice to hear a more sane reflective view to combat my own neurosis.

  • Sarah

    Wow.
    yes.

    This is exactly what I needed to read today.. thanks so much M… and may there be so many more amazing/enlightening/reflective posts in the future!

Leave a Reply

